Don Rowing Club

Annual Meeting of the Members – 2023

Minutes of the Annual Meeting of Members of the Don Rowing Club (hereinafter also referred to as "DRC") held on April 15, 2023 scheduled to commence at 10:00 am in the Pogue Room at the Don Rowing Club.

Present

Members

Abigail Najjar	Harold Chataway	Lynda Dundas	Sarah Pidgen
Christoph Richter	Heather MacDonald	Margaux von Buren	Scott Timpson
Dennis Ovdiyenko	Josianne Lachapelle	Marianna Jankowski	Shae Birch
Elizabeth Najjar	Julie-Anne Fiore	Marko Saban	Vilma Faccani-von Buren
Gerd Hauck	Laura Heberle	Michele Dunlop	Walter Benko
Gina Bin	Leanne Larmondin	Mladen Stegic	
Glenn Davis	Lesley Smith	Nancy Sweete	
Gudrun Hahn	Louise Soucy-Fraser	Nancy Wong	

Registered Proxies

Alex Motzek Jay Labuschagne
Brian Howe Justyna Surzyn
Dana Fedderson Lori Hodder
Ernst Peters Lorne Thomas
Jane Ohberg Mike Mendes

Registration of Proxies

Proxies were accepted in the names of the members listed above.

Call to Order

Sarah Pidgen, President, occupied the chair and Nancy Wong, Secretary, recorded the minutes. The Meeting was called to order at 10:03 am.

Land Acknowledgement

Sarah Pidgen, President read out the land acknowledgement.

Filing of Notice

The President placed before the Meeting a copy of the Notice calling the Meeting.

Quorum

With a quorum of 29 members present and at least twenty members being required, the Meeting was declared validly constituted.

Previous Minutes

The draft minutes of the previous Annual Meeting of Members held on April 9, 2022 were reviewed by the Members.

Upon a motion duly made by Heather MacDonald and seconded by Gudrun Hahn, it was resolved that the Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of the Don Rowing Club held on April 9, 2022 were approved as presented. The motion was passed by a majority vote.

Reports

President's Report

Sarah Pidgen presented the President's Report, as attached hereto.

<u>Treasurer's Report</u>

Mr. Walter Benko presented the Treasurer's Report together with the audited Financial Statements for the year ending December 31, 2022, as attached hereto.

Upon a motion duly made by Laura Heberle and seconded by Heather MacDonald, it was resolved that the Audited Financial Statements for the period January 1, 2022 to December 31, 2022 be received as presented. The motion was passed by a majority vote.

Captain's and House Committee Report

Mr. Marko Saban presented the report attached hereto.

Membership Committee Report

Ms. Vilma Faccani-von Buren presented the report as attached hereto.

Upon a motion duly made by Lynda Dundas and seconded by Heather MacDonald, it was resolved that the reports of the President, Treasurer, Captain, House, and Membership Committee be received as presented. The motion was approved by a majority vote.

Appointment of Auditors

Upon a motion duly made by Marko Saban and seconded by Gerd Hauk, it was resolved that Capstick McCollum & Associates be appointed as the auditor for the Fiscal Year 2023. The motion was approved unanimously.

Recognition of Out-Going Directors

Sarah Pidgen recognized the out-going Directors, Walter Benko, Vilma Faccani-von Buren, Julie-Anne Fiore and Michael Neary, and thanked them for their years of dedicated service to the Don Rowing Club.

Nominating Committee Report

The Committee presented to the members the following slate of nominees to stand for office. The Nominating Committee and the Board are confident in the skills and abilities of the nominees and support their candidacies.

- 1. Julie-Anne Fiore
- 2. Walter Benko
- 3. Vilma Faccani-von Buren
- 4. Margaux von Buren

Upon a motion duly made by Gerd Hauk and seconded by Leanne Larmondin, it was resolved that the slate of candidates was confirmed. The motion was passed unanimously. The four candidates were elected to the position of Director for 3-year terms.

New Business

1. Sarah Pidgen presented the proposed new by-laws. The proposed new by-laws meet the requirements of the newly enacted Ontario Not-for-Profit Corporation's Act. They were created with consultation from both Row Ontario and the City of Mississauga. In addition, a membership review period was held in January 2023 followed by a By-Law Townhall meeting for Members to ask questions about the proposed new by-laws. The proposed new by-laws are posted on iCrew and were circulated in the AGM package for membership review prior to this meeting.

Sarah Pidgen asked if anyone has any questions or concerns they would like to bring forward before voting on the motion to approve the proposed new by-laws.

Gerd Hauck asked what the biggest difference is between the existing by-laws and the proposed new by-laws. Sarah Pidgen explained that the proposed new by-laws are shorter than the existing by-laws and are more focused on governance than on operations.

Dennis Ovdiyenko asked when the proposed by-laws would come into effect, if approved. It was noted that once approved, the new by-laws will come into effect immediately.

Upon a motion duly made by Scott Timpson and seconded by Walter Benko, the proposed new by-laws were approved. The motion was passed unanimously. The new By-Laws No. 2, dated April 15, 2023, are now in effect.

2. Upon a motion duly made by Lynda Dundas and seconded by Heather MacDonald, it was resolved that the actions of the 2022-23 Board of Directors were ratified. The motion was passed unanimously.

Next Meeting

The next Annual Meeting of the Members of DRC will be held in April 2024, the exact date of which will be sent out in the Notice of Annual Meeting to Members closer to the date.

Termination

Upon a motion duly made by Leanne Larmondin and seconded by Louise Soucy-Fraser, it was resolved that the Annual Meeting of Members be terminated. The motion was approved unanimously. The meeting terminated at 11:02 am.

Chair

n. Ny

Secretary